NCAA Announces Field for NCAA Women’s Golf South Region Tournament

NCAA Announces Field for NCAA Women’s Golf South Region Tournament

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA has announced the field of 48 teams and 24 student-athletes competing as individuals that have been selected to participate in super regional competition of the 2019 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships.

NCAA Regional advisory committees recommended regional selections to the Division II Women's Golf Committee, with 12 teams and six individuals, not on those teams, competing in each of the four regions (Central, East, South and West) in the NCAA Division II Tournament.

The Trojans secured their spot in the three-day event by winning their first-ever South Atlantic Conference Championship earlier this month.

Joining the Trojans next week in Cleveland, Tenn., for the South Region Championship will be Barry, Nova Southeastern, Lynn, Florida Tech, Saint Leo, Limestone, Florida Southern, Tampa, Rollins, Lee and Flagler.

The six golfers that qualified individually were Warissa Paungcharoen (Wingate), Franziska Bremm (West Georgia), Lise Malherbe (Lincoln Memorial), Abbey Hartsell (Lenoir-Rhyne), Maeve Cummins (Carson-Newman) and Solange Gomez (West Florida)

The 54-hole South Region Championship will be hosted by Lee University at the Cleveland (Tenn.) Country Club, May 6-8, on a par 72, 5,957 yard layout.

Since 1980, Cleveland Country Club has hosted 16 TGA events and six PGA events. This year, in addition to hosting the NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championship Southern Regional, they are also hosting the TGA Junior Amateur Championship as well as the Drive, Chip and Putt Sub-Regional Qualifier. The Club is a part of the PGA, USGA, TGA, and the Southern Golf Association.

The top four teams along with the top four individuals not with a team from each super regional will advance to the finals, with the NCAA Division II National Championships slated for May 14-18 at the PGA National Resort in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. The number of participants that qualify for the finals is 96.